Fort Lee Simple Assault

A simple assault charge here in Fort Lee can expose you to up to six (6) months in the Bergen County Jail, as well as up to a $1,000 fine. A simple assault charge is defined under the law, N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a), as the following:

  1. A person attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, or
  2. Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon, or
  3. Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent bodily injury.

A simple assault is defined as a Disorderly Persons Offense. However, a simple assault can be a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense if it is committed in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent. Typically this is the bar room brawl where two individuals start fighting one another.

What is negligently causing bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon?

Negligence is usually defined as the standard of care that a reasonable person would exercise in the actor’s shoes so as to avoid damage or injury to another. When we think of a deadly weapon we usually think of a gun, or a knife. But even a car can be considered a deadly weapon. A person can be charged with this if they reverse the car without looking behind them and strike someone.

What is physical menace? How does someone put another person in fear of imminent bodily injury?

Physical menace is when a person uses physical acts to put another person in imminent fear of bodily injury. For example, if someone starts charging at you with fists clenched can be interpreted as physical menace. Another example is if someone picks up a baseball bat and starts walking towards you, this can be interpreted as physical menace.

Fort Lee Criminal Defense Lawyers

If you or a loved one has been charged in Fort Lee, or any town in Bergen County, please feel free to contact our office. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we have ten (10) criminal defense attorneys, and our credentials include the following:

  • Seven (7) were former prosecutors
  • Three (3) of which were former assistant county prosecutors
    • One was the head of the Major Crimes Division,
    • Another was the head of the Trial Team, and
    • The last one was the director of the Gun, Gang and Drug Task Force
  • Three (3) were former municipal court prosecutors
  • One Certified Criminal Trial Attorney
    • Certification comes from the Supreme Court of New Jersey
    • Less than 1 percent of attorneys in this state hold that distinction
  • Selected to the National Trial Attorneys Top 100 Criminal Defense Attorney and Top 40 Under 40
  • Multiple attorneys with Avvo ratings of superb
  • Selected to Thomson Reuters Super Lawyers Rising Stars list here in New Jersey for 2020 and 2021
    • Only 2.5 percent of attorneys in this state are selected to this list