Possession Under 50 grams of Marijuana Lawyers in New Milford NJ

Possession of Marijuana under 50 grams is one of the most common charges issued by law enforcement throughout the Bergen County Municipalities. These municipalities include but are not limited too Paramus, Fort Lee, Garfield, River Vale, Palisades Interstate Park, Leonia, North Arlington, Oradell, Oakland, Ridgewood and Hackensack. Unfortunately, when it comes to this type of offense there is a big misconception throughout the general population. Most people feel that a simple possession of marijuana charge is a low level offense, one that carries with it very few repercussions if convicted. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(4), possession of marijuana under 50 grams in New Jersey is a disorderly persons offense. Pursuant to the New Jersey criminal code, anyone convicted of a disorderly persons offense may be sentenced up to 180 days in the Bergen County Jail. In addition, the individual also faces up to a $1,000 fine, up to $800 in fees and mandatory assessments and not to mention up to a six month loss of their drivers license. It is important to note here that, if the said offense occurred in a motor vehicle, irrespective of whether or not the defendant was under the influence or not, they will most likely be charged with a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1, Possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance in a Motor Vehicle. This offense carries with it an additional potential two (2) year loss of their driver’s license. The repercussions are severe and the consequences can be long lasting. This offense will remain on your record for at least five years and at which time you must petition the courts to have the said record expunged otherwise it will remain on there forever. A criminal record can have a serious impact on not only obtaining employment but also on retaining it as well. It is imperative that you take these charges seriously as the you can tell from above the overall repercussions for anyone convicted of possession of marijuana can be life changing.

With that being said, an experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to convince the Judge to allow the defendant to participate in the conditional discharge program if they are applicable. This program is for first time offenders, and if the program is completed successfully, it will allow for the defendant to walk away from these potentially serious charges without a criminal record. The typical restrictions imposed by the Judge for a participant in the conditional discharge program is to remain arrest free for one year and do not test positive during any of the random drug examinations.

However, if it is determined that you are not eligible for the conditional discharge program it is imperative that you speak to an experienced marijuana possession lawyer immediately. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you avoid the potential 180 day jail sentence, being placed on probation, community service and the potential six month loss of your driver’s license. If they can successfully make a hardship application to the Judge it can either minimize or even eliminate any potential license loss.

Carlstadt NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyers

As you can tell from above, possession of marijuana under 50 grams is a very serious charge, one that should not be taken lightly. If you or someone you know has been charged with possession of marijuana in Bergen County The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can help. If you have any further questions about this charge or any other charge for that matter please feel free to contact any one of our Bergen County Offices and speak to one of our seven qualified criminal defense attorney about you charges.