Bergen County Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Injury Lawyers
Fort Lee NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Bodily Injury Attorneys
Leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey can be a very serious offense if someone is injured during the incident. No matter how minor the collision was, if someone is alleging that they were injured during the incident the defendant will be facing a very realistic jail sentence. Judges and Prosecutors take these offenses very seriously in Bergen County and they will not hesitate to send someone to jail if they are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident where the victim was injured or killed. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has successfully representing individuals charged with a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 throughout Bergen County in towns like Mahwah, Ramsey, East Rutherford, Lodi, Englewood Cliffs, Ridgefield, Paramus and Palisades Interstate Park for over fifteen years. Here is some important information with regards to a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129a, including the necessary elements and applicable penalties if convicted.
Leaving the scene of an accident with Injury or Death: N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(a)
Leaving the scene of an accident with death or personal injury is governed in New Jersey by N.J.S.A. 39:4-129a, which in pertinent part states that:
The driver of any vehicle, knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene.
An individual who is convicted of violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(a), will face a fine of not less than $2,500 but not more than $5,000. Further, the individual may be incarcerated for period not to exceed six months. However, before a Judge can impose a custodial sentence, they must concluded that the accident resulted in the death or injury of someone other than the individual charged with this offense. In addition to the above penalties, a first time offender convicted of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(a), will also suffer a one year loss of their driving privileges. Second or subsequent offenders will permanently loss their driving privileges.
Experienced Traffic Attorneys in Bergen County New Jersey
Often times people panic when they are involved in a motor vehicle accident and as a result leave the scene. As you can tell the penalties for leaving the scene of a accident with bodily injury can result in severe consequences including but not limited to incarceration. Therefore, it is important to speak to a qualified traffic attorney to fully understand your rights and possible defenses to the charge of leaving the scene of an accident with bodily injury. Please feel free to contact any one of our Bergen County offices for a free consultation with one of our experienced new jersey traffic lawyers.