Bergen County Leaving the Scene of an Accident without Injury Lawyer
Lodi NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident without Personal Injury Attorney
Leaving the scene of an accident has become very common offense charged in Bergen County New Jersey. Typically, this offense happens because the defendant is involved in minor motor vehicle accident (usually with another unattended motor vehicle) and as a result they panic and drive away. Unfortunately, someone usually witness this incident and calls the police to report the incident. What seemed like at the time a minor incident quickly turns into a very serious matter if the defendant is charged with leaving the scene of an accident. Leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(b) and as you will see below the applicable penalties include a six month loss of your driver’s license. The Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliverhas been defending individuals charged with leaving the scene of an accident throughout Bergen County in towns like Bergenfield, Tenafly, Upper Saddle River, Oakland and East Rutherford for over fifteen years.
Leaving the scene of an accident without Personal Injury: N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(b)
- The driver of any vehicle knowingly involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle, including his own vehicle, or other property which is attended by any person shall immediately stop his vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close thereto as possible.
Applicable Penalties if Convicted:
A first time offender convicted of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(b) will be fined not less than $200 but not more than $400. They may also be incarcerated for up to thirty days. An individual convicted of a second or subsequent offense, will be fined not less than $400 but not more than $600 and may be incarcerated for a period of not less than 30 days but not more than 90 days. Further, a first time offender convicted of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(b) will also face a six month loss of license.
Experienced Bergen County Criminal Defense Firm
The majority of leaving the scene of an accident charges stem from a minor fender bender, usually in a crowded parking lot. Actually, some individuals charged with leaving the scene of an accident may be completely unaware of the fact that they were actually involved in an accident due to the minor contact between cars. However, with all that being said the Courts continue to take a harsh approach on individuals charged with leaving the scene of an accident. Therefore, it is imperative to retain an experienced traffic attorney who can protect your interests. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact any one of our Bergen County Offices for a free consultation.