Fort Lee NJ DWI Lawyers
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has eight criminal defense attorneys on staff making our firm one of the largest driving while intoxicated defense firms in the state of New Jersey let alone Bergen County. Four of the eight dwi defense attorneys on staff are former dwi prosecutors in over twenty-five New Jersey municipalities. In addition, five of the eight attorneys on staff are certified to administer the Alcotest Machine (Machine law enforcement use to determine one’s BAC) and three are certified to administer the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. The consequences for a dui in New Jersey can be devastating and can have lifelong consequences. It is imperative that you speak to an experienced Fort Lee New Jersey dwi attorney immediately about your options. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has over 100 years of combined experience on staff. If you or someone you know has been charged with a dwi in Fort Lee or anywhere else in New Jersey and you have any questions please contact any one of our Bergen County Offices for a free initial consultation. Here is some important information with regards to the offense of driving while intoxicated.
Fort Lee DWI Charges: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
What are the Penalties for a Driving While Intoxicated Offense in NJ?
First Offense DWI:
- A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated with a BAC below .10% will be considered a First Tier DWI and the defendants license will be suspended for three (3) months.
- A conviction for Driving Under the Influence with a BAC above .10% the defendant will be facing a license suspension of at least seven (7) but no more than twelve (12) month. In addition, if it is determined that your BAC was .15% or higher than the Judge must impose the Ignition Interlock Device.
Second Offense DWI:
- Unlike a first offense DWI, there is no “tiers”. If you are convicted of a second violation of Driving While Intoxicated, whether your first offense was in this state or any other state and your first offense occurred within the last 10 years, you will be subject to a mandatory two (2) year loss of your drivers license. In addition, the Defendant will be forced to complete thirty (30) days of community service.
Third Offense DWI:
- If you are convicted of a third or subsequent violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 in New Jersey, whether your priors occurred within New Jersey or not, your drivers license will be suspended for ten (10) years. In addition, the defendant must be sentenced to 180 days in the Bergen County Jail.
DUI Lawyer in Fort Lee NJ
A driving while intoxicated conviction in Fort Lee New Jersey can have devastating consequences on not only your life but your loved ones as well. New Jersey does not allow for temporary drivers licenses for anyone convicted of dui or refusing to submit to a breath sample. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has been defending individuals charged with DWI in Fort Lee, Elmwood Park, Mahwah, East Rutherford and Cliffside Park for over fifteen years. We have the knowledge and skill set required to successfully defend these charges. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI / DUI in New Jersey please contact any one of our Bergen County Offices for free initial consultation.