Elmwood Park NJ DUI Attorneys

A conviction for a driving while intoxicated offense can have life changing consequences for not only you but your loved ones as well. Elmwood Park New Jersey issues by far the most DWI / DUI / Refusal summons in Bergen County. Fort Lee police officers write a fair amount of DWI summons as well. As you will see below even a first offense conviction will leave the defendant without a drivers license for a good length of time. It should be noted here that New Jersey is one of a few states in the entire country that does not allow temporary work licenses for anyone convicted of driving while intoxicated or refusing to submit to a breath sample. If you or someone you know has been charged with a dwi in Elmwood Park it is imperative that you seek the advice of an experienced Elmwood Park DWI lawyer. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has been defending individuals charged with DWI, DUI and Refusals in Elmwood Park, Fort Lee, Cliffside Park, Palisades Interstate Park and Garfield for over fifteen years. We have eight dwi defense attorneys on staff, including four former dwi prosecutors. Our staff combined has handled well over 10,000 driving under the influence charges. Often times individuals feel that since they submitted a breath sample and that breath sample was over the legal limit, that there is nothing that can be done for them. That cannot be any further from the truth, there is very strict procedures which the police officers must follow. If you or someone you know has been charged with DWI or refusing to submit to a breath sample in Elmwood Park we can help. Here is some important information with regards to a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.

Elmwood Park DWI Charges: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

Elmwood Park First Offense DWI Fines & Penalties

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, a defendant convicted of a first offense DWI must be fined between $250 and $500. In addition, there are mandatory assessments that the Judge must impose, they include:  $75 for the Safe Neighborhood Fund, $50 for the Victims of Crime Compensation Board, $100 for DUI Enforcement, and $100 as a DUI Surcharge. If the defendants conviction was based on a BAC less than .10%, then there is a mandatory license suspension of three (3) months. If the BAC was .10% or more then the Judge may impose a license suspension anywhere between seven (7) and twelve (12) months.

Elmwood Park Second Offense DWI Fines & Penalties

If the defendant is convicted of violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 for a second time within a ten year period, they must be fined  not less than $500 but not more than $1,000. In addition, the Judge must sentence the defendant to thirty days (30) of community service and a term of imprisonment of not less than 48 consecutive hours. Lastly, the defendants drivers license will be suspended for a period of two years no matter what the defendants BAC was.

Elmwood Park Third or Subsequent Offense DWI Fines & Penalties

If the defendant is convicted of driving while intoxicated for a third time, no matter if either of the previous two offenses happened in this state or not, the defendant must be fined $1,000. The defendant will also be assessed roughly $400 worth of mandatory assessments, surcharges and court costs. In addition, the defendants drivers license will be suspended for ten (10) years and he will be required to serve a mandatory 180 days in the Bergen County Jail.

DUI Lawyers in Elmwood Park NJ

As you can tell from above, the applicable penalties for anyone convicted of DWI / DUI / Refusal in New Jersey are severe. It is imperative that you speak to an experienced Elmwood Park dwi defense attorney immediately about your options. If you have any further questions with regards to this offense or any other offense for that matter please contact any one of our Bergen County Offices of a free initial consultation with one of our eight dwi defense attorneys.