Simple Assault Lawyer in Bergen County NJ
East Rutherford NJ Simple Assault Lawyer
Pursuant to the New Jersey criminal code, Simple Assault is a serious charged if you or a loved one has been charged with. The governing statute in New Jersey for simple assault is N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1. As you will read below, a conviction for simple assault can have devastating effects on your career. If the prosecutor feels that the injury suffered by the victim is severe enough they may seek to have the charges upgraded to aggravated assault. In addition, the Defendant may also be charged with a disorderly conduct, harassment, stalking, false imprisonment or terroristic threats charge as well. On top of that, if the incident can be categorized as “domestic violence” a defendant may also find themselves facing a final restraining order hearing as well. Our law firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, has the experience and knowledge to defend these charges since we have:
- Over two-hundred (200) years of combined experience
- A team of ten (10) criminal defense attorneys that devote their entire practice to criminal law
- Our firm has seven (7) former prosecutors
- Three (3) of our attorneys were former assistant county prosecutors and held directorial positions of the Drug, Gang, and Gun Task Force, Major Crimes Division, Trial Division, Juvenile Division
- Three (3) of our attorneys were former municipal prosecutors in over twenty-five (25) towns
- One (1) of our attorneys is Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a Criminal Trial Attorney, a distinction held by less than 1% of attorneys in this State
- One (1) of our lawyers was recently selected to Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2020 list for New Jersey which is a highly credentialed, peer-influenced, third-party validated, and a patented process that selects only 2.5% of the attorneys in New Jersey to this list
- Selected to the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 and Top 40 Under 40
An N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1, simple assault charge, is a serious charge, and you or your loved one need serious attorneys to handle these allegations. We have three (3) offices located throughout Bergen County. We have offices in Paramus, Hackensack, as well as Fort Lee. Call one of our offices for a free consultation at 201-429-9783, we’re available 24/7.
Fort Lee NJ Assault Attorneys
What the State must prove Beyond a Reasonable Doubt:
Before someone can be convicted of simple assault, the State must prove that either the individual:
(1) Attempted to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly caused bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently caused bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
The key phrase in the statute is bodily injury, which has been interpreted to mean either physical pain, illness or any impairment of one’s physical condition.
Applicable Penalties if Convicted:
Generally speaking, simple assault in New Jersey is a disorderly persons offense (DP). If convicted, the individual may face up to six (6) months in the Bergen County Jail and up to a $1000.00 fine. However, if the simple assault occurred as a result of mutual consent; meaning that neither person was the aggressor, than the offense is considered a petty disorderly persons offense (PDP). Which if convicted, an individual may face up to thirty (30) days in the Bergen County Jail and up to a $500.00 fine. Further, a simple assault conviction will result in a criminal record and that record may not be expunged for a minimum of five years. As you can tell the penalties if convicted can be devastating, therefore it is imperative that you do not waste any time and contact an experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney immediately.
Hackensack NJ Simple Assault Lawyer
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has been successfully defending individuals charged with simple assault, aggravated assault, stalking and criminal mischief in towns like Hackensack, East Rutherford, Paramus, Teaneck, Little Ferry and Englewood Cliffs for years. If you or someone you know has been charged with simple assault please feel free to contact any one of our Bergen County Offices to speak to one of our qualified criminal attorneys about your options. We can be reached at 201.429.9783 around the clock. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us. These are extremely serious charges that if not handled properly could have long lasting consequences.