Riot in New Jersey is a serious charge. If you or a loved one is facing a riot charge here in Bergen County, then you can be facing possible jail/prison time. A riot charge is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-1(a). As you will read below, a riot charge is serious, and you or a loved one facing this charge needs an experienced criminal defense lawyer. At our criminal defense law firm, we are one of the largest criminal defense practices here in New Jersey. Our credentials include the following:
- Over two-hundred (200) years of combined experience
- A team of ten (10) criminal defense attorneys that devote their entire practice to criminal law
- Our firm has seven (7) former prosecutors
- Three (3) of our attorneys were former assistant county prosecutors and held directorial positions of the Drug, Gang, and Gun Task Force, Major Crimes Division, Trial Division, Juvenile Division
- Two (2) of our lawyers was recently selected to Thomson Reuters Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2021 list for criminal defense here in New Jersey which is a highly credentialed, peer-influenced, third-party validated, and a patented process that selects only 2.5% of the attorneys in New Jersey to this list
- One (1) of our attorneys is Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a Criminal Trial Attorney, a distinction held by less than 1% of attorneys in this State
- Selected to the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 and Top 40 Under 40
An N.J.S.A. 2C:33-1(a), riot charge, is a serious charge. If you or your loved one is facing a riot charge here in Bergen County, then please call one of our offices for a free consultation at 201-201-0086, we’re available 24/7.
Bergen County Riot Lawyers
The Bergen County Prosecutor’s Office will have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt in order to convict a defendant of riot. The Bergen County Prosecutor’s Office will have to prove these elements in order to sustain a riot charge:
- The defendant, with four or more others participates in a course of disorderly conduct as defined in section 2C:33-2a and:
- with purpose to commit or facilitate the commission of a crime;
- with purpose to prevent or coerce official action; OR
- when the defendant or any other participant, known to him/her, uses or plans to use a firearm or other deadly weapon
If you or a loved one is convicted of riot (2C:33-1(a)), then they will be brandished with a felony criminal record.
If convicted of riot, and a firearm or a deadly weapon is used or was panned to be used, then it is a third degree crime. A third degree crime carries a minimum of three years in New Jersey state prison, and up to a $15,000 fine. If convicted of riot where a firearm or a deadly weapon was not used, then it is a fourth degree crime. A fourth degree carries a maximum of eighteen months in New Jersey state prison, and up to a $10,000 fine.
Fort Lee Riot Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we are an experienced Bergen County Criminal Defense Law Firm. We have a long track record of success . If you or someone you know has been charged with riot in towns like Hackensack, Fort Lee, Elmwood Park, Teaneck, Westwood, Fairview, Cliffside Park, Paramus, River Edge, Montvale or elsewhere in Bergen County we can help. If you have any further questions please contact any one of our Bergen County Offices for a free initial consultation with any one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys at 201-201-0086, we’re available 24/7.