On Sunday August 2, 2020, reality TV star Jonathan Cheban was robbed. Cheban, a frequent guest on the popular TV series Keeping Up With The Kardashians, was held up at gunpoint in Englewood Cliffs. Cheban’s mother had a gun held to her head while Cheban’s $250,000 watch was forcibly removed from his wrist. Englewood Cliffs police were summoned to East Bayview Avenue on Sunday at around 8:30PM. There are two suspects, and it is believed that both fled on Route 9W. Apparently this all began when the suspect, a male in his late twenties, asked Cheban for the time. The suspect thereafter brandished a handgun and robbed Cheban of his watch. This occurred in a driveway of a home on East Bayview Avenue.

Allegedly the robbery left a minor injury to the TV Star’s wrist. Cheban informed reporters that he left New York City for the suburbs of New Jersey, but that crime is following. He further described the robbery of his watch as a horrific experience and that it was life-changing. However, that did not stop him and Kim Kardashian from visiting the Jersey Shore. On Wednesday, both Cheban and Kardashian were on the boardwalk of Seaside Heights. They were spotted riding a bike and grabbing food at restaurant on the boardwalk.

Robbery Lawyers in Englewood Cliffs

If you or a loved one is facing a robbery charge, N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1, then the consequences of a conviction or a guilty plea can be dire. The difference between a plain old theft case and a robbery case is if physical force or threat of harm was used. Robbery is a second (2nd) degree crime. What does that mean? To put it bluntly, you or a loved one is facing one of the more serious types of crimes here in this State. A conviction at trial, or a plea of guilty to the charge can expose you or your loved one that is charged with robbery to a prison sentence of up to ten (10) years in New Jersey state prison. In addition to being put behind bars for up to a decade, the defendant can be ordered to pay a fine of up to $150,000.00.

A robbery charge can quickly escalate to a first (1st) degree robbery charge if:

  • There was an attempt to kill the victim or another person,
  • The defendant inflicted serious bodily injury on the victim or another person, or
  • There was a use or a threat to use a deadly weapon on the victim or a person.

The following includes, but may not be limited to, what counts as a deadly weapon; gun, handgun, shotgun, knives, or bats. If you or a loved one is convicted of a first degree robbery charge, or plead guilty to said charge, then a prison sentence of up to twenty (20) years behind bars is possible. Not to mention, a fine well over six figures is a potential consequence as well. The robbery that allegedly occurred with Cheban can possibly be considered a first degree charge since a handgun was used.

For both a first and second degree charge, there is a presumption of incarceration. This means that if you or your loved one charged with robbery is found guilty at trial, then it is presumed that at sentencing the Judge will order them to serve in prison. Lastly, a robbery charge falls under the No Early Release Act (“NERA”). This means that a defendant that is found guilty or pleads guilty has to serve at least eighty-five (85%) percent of their sentence before they are eligible for parole.

At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we have ten (10) criminal defense attorneys, and our credentials include the following:

  • Three (3) former assistant county prosecutors
    • One was the head of the Major Crimes Division,
    • Another was the head of the Trial Team, and
    • The last one was the director of the Gun, Gang and Drug Task Force
  • One Certified Criminal Trial Attorney
    • Certification comes from the Supreme Court of New Jersey
    • Less than 1 percent of attorneys in this state hold that distinction
  • Selected to the National Trial Attorneys Top 100 Criminal Defense Attorney and Top 40 Under 40
  • Multiple attorneys with superb Avvo ratings
  • Selected to Thomson Reuters Super Lawyers Rising Stars list here in New Jersey for this year
    • Only 2.5 percent of attorneys in this state are selected to this list