Courts we serve

Site Disclaimers

This site was constructed for the purposes of providing information relating to The Law Offices of
Jonathan F. Marshall and the members of such firm. You are not considered a client of the firm until
you have signed a retainer agreement and your case has been accepted by one of our attorneys.

Note on Prior Results: Prior results, notwithstanding the similarity of circumstances, do not guarantee or predict a similar outcome with respect to any pending or future matter.

Driving Without Insurance

Bergen County Driving Without Insurance Lawyers

East Rutherford NJ Driving Without Insurance Attorneys 

Driving without insurance is a very serious traffic offense in New Jersey. In fact the penalties if convicted are worse than being convicted of driving while intoxicated. As you will see below, the applicable penalties if convicted are much worse if the alleged defendant was involved in a motor vehicle accident. The Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver has been representing individuals charged with Driving without Insurance throughout New Jersey for the past fifteen years. These municipalities include but are not limited to; Paramus, Fort Lee, Mahwah, Ramsey, Lodi, River Vale, Palisades Interstate Park and Garfield. If your or someone you know has been charged with driving without insurance in New Jersey it is imperative that you speak to a qualified traffic attorney about your options. Listed below is some of the pertinent information with regards to a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2.

Driving Without Insurance: N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2

What the Municipal Prosecutor Must Prove Beyond a Reasonable Doubt:

The Legislatures decided to separate the “responsibilities” of the owner of the vehicle in question from simply the operator of the vehicle in question:

The prosecutor must prove that the Owner: 

  • That the defendant operated the vehicle in question on a public highway or roadway within the State of New Jersey;
  • That the said defendant is the actual owner of the vehicle in question;
  • That the defendant personally operated the vehicle in question; or
  • That the defendant owner/registrant allowed another person to operate the vehicle in question;
  • That the vehicle was registered to an address within the State of New Jersey; and
  • That the vehicle in question was not covered by a valid policy of liability insurance at the time of its operation.

 The prosecutor must prove that the Operator but not owner of vehicle in question:

  • That the vehicle in question was operated on a public highway or roadway within the State of New Jersey;
  • That the defendant was not the owner of the vehicle in question;
  • That the defendant actually operated the vehicle in question;
  • That the vehicle in question was registered to an address within the State of New Jersey;
  • That the vehicle in question was not covered by a valid policy of liability insurance at the time of its operation but the defendant;
  • That the defendant knew or should have known from the surrounding circumstances that the vehicle in question was not properly insured.

Penalties if convicted of Driving a Motor Vehicle without Insurance in New Jersey: 

A first time offender, if convicted will be fined of not less than $300 but not more than $1,000 and must serve whatever community service hours the Court deems necessary. In addition, the defendant’s driver’s license will suspended for a mandatory one year from date of conviction.

Repeat offenders will face a fine up to $5,000 and the court will require the defendant to perform community service for a period of not less than 30 days. In addition, a defendant will be required to serve 14 days in the local County Jail and their driver’s license will be suspended for an additional two years from the date of conviction. Then, after the license suspension period is served, the defendant will be required to make an application to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles to obtain a New Jersey driver’s license, which application may be granted at the discretion of the director.

Will all that being said, these cases are very fact sensitive. Was your insurance canceled? If so why? Was it your vehicle? Were you responsible for making sure that the vehicle was insured? How long did the insurance lapse? Have you since obtained insurance?  All the aforementioned questions can play a significant role in one’s ability to defend a charge of Driving While Suspended.

Experienced Bergen County Traffic Attorneys

As stated earlier, the consequence of being convicted of for Driving a motor vehicle without Insurance in New Jersey can  be devastating. As a first time offender you will be required to forfeit your driver’s license for one year. It is important to note that New Jersey does not allow for a temporary driver’s licenses, therefore, even in an emergency situation, if pulled over the officer will be forced to issue you a ticket for Driving While Suspended. Please feel free to contact any one of our Bergen County offices for a free initial consultation.

Call Our Hackensack Office

Or contact our office online to schedule a free consultation to discuss your unique charges with one of our experienced and qualified attorneys.

Schedule a free consultation

Site Disclaimers

This site was constructed for the purposes of providing information relating to The Law Offices of
Jonathan F. Marshall and the members of such firm. You are not considered a client of the firm until
you have signed a retainer agreement and your case has been accepted by one of our attorneys.

Note on Prior Results: Prior results, notwithstanding the similarity of circumstances, do not guarantee or predict a similar outcome with respect to any pending or future matter.